The American Legion Department of South Carolina headquarters is located in Irmo, SC which is just northwest of Columbia off I26.  The current Department Commander is Jim Jarvis.  He was elected at the SC Department convention in May 2022 and will serve until 2023. The Department Adjutant is Michael Strauss.  The Department Executive Director is Maggie May who is headquartered at the department headquarters in Irmo.  Click here to go to information on how to contact the named officials.

The Department Adjutant publishes news and information via The Connector on a six-times-a-year basis.  Click here to read The Connector on-line.

American Legion Post 205 is in District 16 in the Department of South Carolina.  The district is comprised of seven posts in Beaufort, Jasper, and Hampton Counties.  Those posts are:

  • Post 9 Beaufort -
  • Post 42 Hilton Head - contact Benjamin Perry - 916-716-3689
  • Post 95 Jasper County - No website - contact Robert Flitcraft,, 843-208-2791
  • Post 108 Hampton County - No website - contact Charles D Dean,, 803-943-8021
  • Post 185 Hilton Head - No website - contact Warren A Graves - no email - 315-882-6847
  • Post 205 Bluffton - You are currently in the website
  • Post 207 Beaufort - No website - contact John L Coaxum, 843-379-7084

You can get to a post's website by clicking on the link that starts with http.  Each of those websites has contact names and phone numbers.  For those posts with no website, the email address and/or phone number (if available) will put you in contact with an official of that post.

The current district commander is Courtney Peeples of Post 205.  He is the Past Commander of that post.  District Commanders are elected for two-year terms by the commanders of the constituent posts who cast votes consistent with the number of members of the post.  

District 16

Department of South Carolina

Michael Strauss

​Department Adjutant

Courtney Peeples

District 16 Commander

Jim Jarvis

Department Commander